It’s Okay to Ask for Help

After a very rough week last week, I feel like this is necessary to say, even if just for myself.

IT IS OKAY TO ASK FOR HELP

Knowing myself, I know I am a very independent, hardworking person. I like doing things on my own sometimes, especially if I know what I’m doing. But I can’t always do that, I can’t always get things done.

Last week my medication failed me and I went into a hypomania-like state. I couldn’t sleep, eat, or concentrate. Besides already being behind in all of my classes due to overcommitting myself this semester (Oh the joy of when you think you can handle everything and then realize you can’t), I had many more assignments that I needed to finish that week.

And for the first time in a really long time, I didn’t get something done. And it was really hard for me to accept that. I kept putting off this essay, saying I had time, and then suddenly I didn’t and my mind decided not to work. So, I missed the midnight deadline for the online turn in. I sent an email to my professor, frantically explaining my situation and told her I would get it done by class that day. But, then I couldn’t fall asleep until 4 am so I slept all morning. So, that also didn’t happen.

So I printed out what I had and decided to turn that in. I wasn’t happy with it, but I would rather turn in something incomplete than nothing at all.

And I could have left it at that, but I decided to talk to my professor and see what she had to say. She came up to me after class, saying she was a little worried because of my email. (It was very stream of conscious like, full emotions and no punctuation, written in a frantic realization of my situation, so that made sense). She asked if I had been able to finish the paper and I told her I had not. And, thankfully, she helped me. She allowed me to talk about what was happening. She gave me two choices to how I wanted to get the paper done. If I hadn’t gone to her office after class and had left that unfinished paper for her to grade, I know I would have gotten an awful grade. With her help, I was able to get it in without any grade penalty, and I feel great about the paper itself.

Don’t be afraid to ask for help, especially in school. Understanding people will listen to your situation and try to help.

Another tip future me, when you decide to treat yourself and give yourself a break because of how burnt out you are feeling, don’t overdo it. I say this because I was up until 4 am Saturday night watching a Korean drama. In the end, I didn’t get much work done this weekend and I am still very behind. But, I do feel better about where I am going and I know I have people who will help me along the way.

Photo: theintentionallife.com

 

Leave a Reply

