LGBT History Month: Reading Challege!

So, it’s already October 5 (where is the time going? I’ll be back in the states soon at this rate!), and I didn’t know until today that it is LGBT+ history month in the USA! I knew about coming out day; but this is a whole new world for me. I still consider myself a baby in the LGBT+ world; I’m only 20 years old and have only been out for a year.

I saw a blog post by The Literary Others about a reading event they are holding this month and I got super excited. Luckily, the readings don’t have to be novels, which I’m glad for because I don’t have a ton of free time to read. But, I figured I’d come up with a list of a few things I’ll plan to read. I’ll probably add to in and drop some as the month goes on, but that’s normally how things in my life go.

My list for this month:

Talking to Gaymers: Questioning Idenity, Community and Media representation by Adrienne Shaw (Short Essay); A Girl Worth Fighting For: A Rhetorical Critique of Disney Princess Mulan’s Bisexuality by Adam Key (Essay); Depression and/or Oppression? Bisexuality and Mental Health (Essay); Prince of Cats (Web Comic); Always Raining Here (Web Comic); Missing Monday (Web Comic); Carmilla season 2 by KindaTV (web series); Poetry by Ashe Vernon.

My list for the future:

Orlando by Virginia Woolf (classic novel); The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde (classic novel); Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz (YA novel); Bi: Notes for a Bisexual Revolution by Shiri Eisner; To Stand in22009625.jpg the Light by Kayla Bashie (and many more, I’m too lazy to list a lot right now).

Suggestions:
One book I would recommend is “Best Bi Short Stories: Anthology of Bisexual Literary Fiction.” It’s a great collection of bisexual short stories. I’ve read most of the shorter ones and enjoyed most of them. Sadly, I left the book at home so I won’t get to finish it anytime soon.

A poet I would recommend is Sappho. She’s one of my favorite poets. A comic series I suggest is Lumberjanes. If you want to participate and need more recommendations, let me know as I have a list of queer books in my

If you want to participate and need more recommendations, let me know as I have a list of queer books in my goodreads account.

I wanted to write about this event because one, I think it’s awesome; and two, it’s a good way to encourage me and others to read more lgbt stuff. Let me know what you’re going to read if you decide to do this too. Totally open to suggestions if people know of things I should read! I will try to do a review of at least one thing I read at the end of the month.

3 thoughts on “LGBT History Month: Reading Challege!

  1. Hidden Coming Out says:

    I love this idea! Your post totally speaks to me! I would love to read more LGBTQ work! My question for you is, where can one find the essays that you mentioned above? Does this take place on GoodReads? Tell me more! 🙂 Thanks for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rea says:

      I’m glad you’re inspired! I would read the post by the people who created the idea for more information! (I linked it in my post). I am not sure about GoodReads. I was so pumped about it, I wrote this post to let others know and I’m so glad you found it!

      As for the essays, I am in University and thus have access to databases where I found these articles while doing a research project last semester. If you aren’t in college, try your public library. Sometimes having a card there allows you to access their data bases and search for these essays and more. I felt bad mentioning the articles because I know it will be hard for some people to access them if they’re interested but I don’t have time to read full novels this month so they are what I’m going to read. If you are unable to find these articles, please let me know! If you do find them and read them, also let me know as I’d love to discuss them with someone! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hidden Coming Out says:

    I will definitely check out their page, thank you! Ahh, that’s great you have access to all of those articles through your University. That just made me flash back to my college experience. 🙂 I will definitely have to look into this in my local public library. Thank you for that suggestion. I didn’t even think about it. I’d say at least or around a year ago was the last time I specifically browsed the LGBTQ section, and sadly, I remember there weren’t too many options. There were some, but, I’ll have to take a look again. I will make a note to the essays and books you mentioned and I will do a little researching. I would definitely love to talk with someone about them, too! That would be great!! I’ll keep you posted on what I find! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

