Fall Anime 2016 First Impressions Part 2 of 2

I’m already falling behind! Most of the fall animes have already aired their second episodes. Anyways, this is part two of my first impressions of the anime I have decided to watch this season. Here is my list of the animes I chose and why, and here is part 1 of my first impressions. As I said before, I’m not going to do weekly episode reviews, but I may do a final review at the end of the season. **Spoilers

Shuumatsu no Izettashuumatsu_no_izetta-57b216fe3348a

I had a feeling this was going to be one of my favorites this season, and the first episode managed to capture my attention. I really like the main character, the princess. Her design is really cute and I like how she’s a strong princess yet still has her faults. I don’t really like how she’s repeatedly called a tomboy, but that’s a minor annoyance. Besides her, we really aren’t left with many characters that are going to be in the series. We have the major and his apprentice, who are interesting, the red-haired girl, and that’s about it.
The animation in this show is really pretty. I really like all of the character designs. When a scene shows the scenery of the country, it’s beautiful. Well done on that part, I hope it keeps up for the rest of the series.

There were two parts of the episode that I did not like. The first was the shower scene. While it was used to show her morning over the death of one of her guards, I felt like it was unnecessary. They could have showed the grief in another way. I am glad they did show their emotions a little instead of skipping over it. The second part was the implied rape comment by the soldier that captured her. Completely unnecessary and really upsetting honestly.

At the end, we find out the princess and the red haired girl, the witch, already know each other. I’m excited to see how they met and where this series goes now that the war on the princess’s country has begun. This episode ended with me being hooked and wanting to know more. The second episode is already out, and I plan to watch it as soon as I finish this post. This will for sure be one of the series I try to keep up with.

Final thoughts: Can’t wait to watch the next episode

Touken Ranbu Hanamaru:

touken_ranbu_hanamaru_anime.JPG

There are so many characters in this anime! How are we supposed to keep up? Well, to begin, I’ll start with things I know so far. These guys are all swords that have been turned into humans to make sure that history isn’t rewritten. Seems like a pretty serious topic to me, yet it’s a comedy.

It took about halfway through the episode to actually start to get interesting. The beginning wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t important besides that it showed us the characters we aren’t going to remember. And of course the main character’s dream that happened in the first minute of the anime and wasn’t paid attention to ended up being important. But, did they really put the new guy in charge?

What I did like about all of the characters was that they are all unique in design and personality. I also enjoyed that they weren’t all designed like “traditional strong fighting men,” if you get what I mean. Some were actually a little gender ambiguous. The fighting scenes were also cool, the monsters are designed uniquely, but I like it. Swords that fight with swords. I’m glad the main character got his butt kicked when trying to be overconfident. Then again, like I said before, who put him in charge anyways!

I’m not sure if I’m going to continue this one, at least right now. It is funny and well animated, but there are so many characters and it’s a comedy so I’m worried it won’t go anywhere. I am curious about what’s going to happen, so I’ll probably watch another episode or two to see if it’s worth my time. If not, it’ll go on my on hold list and I’ll watch it when I want to watch something funny.

Final thoughts: Three episode test, then we’ll see.

Girlish Number:

maxresdefault.jpg

I didn’t really have high hopes for this one. Maybe this isn’t my genre of anime. The girl is cute but a little childish and her personality isn’t really consistent. Plus, there is drama between the girls, she recognizes the problems in the industry; and yet she still wants to be an idol. Her friendships with others, if you can even call it that, are fake. This kind of drama, while it is good to show these problems with the industry, just isn’t my cup of tea.

I won’t be continuing this one. It’s not bad, but rather not my style. The inconsistencies also make me disinterested. Or well, I was bored during the episode and the ending didn’t catch my attention enough to want to continue.

Final thoughts: dropped

2 thoughts on “Fall Anime 2016 First Impressions Part 2 of 2

Leave a Reply

