Fall Anime: Final Thoughts

As expected, I didn’t get very far in the animes that I chose to watch for this season. I never do. In reality, I’m glad I finished two of them. Here are my last thoughts on the fall anime for this year in no particular order. I tried to keep it as spoiler free as I could. I’ll be choosing which anime I’ll be watching (or well, starting if we’re being realistic) for the winter season soon!

Bloodivores: Dropped after episode 2

I chose to watch this anime on a whim. The first episode interested me enough to continue, but the second episode was so gross that I wasn’t even interested in figuring out what would happen anymore. Tw: there’s a long scene with implied desire by the males to sexually assault the three or so women in the room. It’s disgusting and I can’t even think about finishing the series without that scene entering my mind.

Yuri on Ice: Finished

I was not planning to watch this one and yet it was the one I stuck with the most throughout the season (mostly cause my roommate and I would message each other about it each week). I’ve seen a few sports animes focused on guys (Free) and I enjoyed them, but it’s not my favorite genre. Like many sports anime, I got bored during the sporty part, in this case the skating part, after a few episodes. However, I fell in love with the show after the first episode.

It’s so funny and cute! But it also reflects on personal growth and learning to love yourself. This is my new favorite sports anime. I loved the opening theme: I think it sets the perfect mood for the show and the art for it is beautiful. Also, the relationships between the characters is beautiful, especially victor and Yuri. Yet you also see other characters, like yurio, grow too. The ending was enjoyable and I think it resolved well. I’m really hoping for a season 2 (it was hinted at in the ending but you never know).

Kiss Him Not Me: Reached episode 3

This was another one I wasn’t planning on watching until my roommate told me it was super gay. I thought this one was pretty funny too. There were a few problematic parts (ie everyone loving her after she drops weight and gets pretty), but overall it was good. I didn’t get far, but I’ll finish it eventually.

Girlish Number: Dropped after episode 1

To quote my first impressions blog post: “It’s not awful, but rather not my style. The inconsistencies make me disinterested. I was bored during the episode and the ending didn’t catch my attention enough to want to continue.”

Touken Ranbu: Hanamaru: Reached episode 3

After watching the first episode of this show, I didn’t touch it again until about mid-season. It wasn’t bad, but it seemed to lack an overarching plot. Plus, there were so many characters it was hard to keep track of them all. I’ll come back to it when I need something funny to watch when I don’t feel like thinking a lot.

Flip Flappers: Reached episode 3

This anime lacked a plot, which was one of the reasons why I didn’t keep up with it. It was cute, the animation was beautiful, and I liked the characters. It does have the mystery of where it will go and that will be enough to make me finish it in the future.

Mahou Shoujo Ikusei Keikaku: Finished

I really liked this show, mostly for the characters. I like that they weren’t typical magical girls and not all of them had good intentions and that it got darker as the show went on. Some of the deaths were sad, (actually most were), but they weren’t completely unexpected. I got hooked during the last couple of episodes because I had to know what was going to happen.

I also enjoyed the ending. I think it wrapped up pretty well for a 12 episode show and I liked the growth the two main characters had, you could tell they had changed by the end.

Shuumatsu no Izetta: Reached episode 6

I enjoyed what I’ve seen of this so far. I have a bad feeling it’s going to end quickly and without resolution, but we’ll see. I like the characters and where the show is going, or ould be going. In reality, seeing the two main girls grow in their friendship (or maybe more) is enough to keep me watching. I’ll be sure to finish it when I have the time.

One thought on “Fall Anime: Final Thoughts

Leave a Reply

