Winter 2017 Halfway Point Thoughts

So, it’s been a while. I started writing a first impression post for this season a few weeks ago, but eventually time went on and I didn’t end up watching what I thought I was going to so I never finished it. With that, these are my thoughts on the four shows I’ve watched so far this season, ranked by what I like most down to what I have dropped. Following the title, I’ve included how many episodes I’ve watched so far.

  1. Kobayashi-san Chi no Maidragon – 6

Miss-Kobayashi-Dragon-Maid-Visual-002-20161207.jpg

This one was originally on my considering list, but as usual, one of my roommates made me sit down and watch it. I fell in love immediately. I think the show is super cute and funny. I love all the characters and Fafnir is my favorite so far (kill them all). I am worried that since we’re already halfway through and we haven’t gotten a real conflict that it’ll come in the last couple of episodes and resolve too quickly. Either way, I’m looking forward to the next episode.

  1. Gabriel Dropout – 6

gabriel-dropout-8020-1.jpg

I watched the first episode of this show first this season and I loved it. One again this is a show with no real conflict other than Gabriel not being the perfect angel. This show also is super cute and makes me laugh. I appreciate that the angels act like demons and the demons are like angels; it adds a unique and hilarious element to the show. I was worried one or two characters were going to be a little annoying, but it’s not as bad as I worried it would be.

  1. Blue Exorcist Season 2 – 1

Ao no Exorcist_ Kyoto Fujou Ou-hen PV1..mp4_000037179.jpg

I didn’t realize this was airing this season right away. I was worried I wouldn’t remember enough to know what was going on since it’s been years since I’ve seen the first season. However, the first episode does enough recap mixed in with its new stuff that helped me remember everything. The first episode wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t quite good enough to make me want to continue it right then. Honestly, I’m a little annoyed with some of the characters and the way they treat Rin, as usual. I’ll probably give it a few more episodes to see if I want to continue with it, which will probably depend on what the conflict of this season will be.

  1. Fuuka – ½ (Dropped)

I tried watching this and I couldn’t finish the first episode. It’s not bad per say, but it’s not my type of anime. I couldn’t enjoy it mostly because of the characters and how ridiculous it was.

There are a lot of shows from this season that I still want to check out when I have time. I know I will at least shoot to finish Maidragon and Gabriel, so that’s about my normal record for finishing an airing season. Let me know if there’s a show airing that I need to check out cause I’d love to take recommendations!

Leave a Reply

