Spring Anime 2017: What I’m Going to (Try) to Watch

I had to put the try in the title because I know myself. Like most seasons, I know I’m not going to get through most of these since university takes up all of my time. However, I’m at least going to start a few and see how it goes. Descriptions and pictures are from AniChart, and aren’t in any particular order. I’ll be sharing my final thoughts on this winter season soon!

1. HinakoNote: Comedy, Slice of Life 87517-YXjXeLO0eDul.jpg

“Hinako is poor at speaking and lives in a rural part of Japan. She wants to improve her speech to be able to talk to people freely, so in high school, she transfers schools to Tokyo and plans to join a theater club. When she arrives, it turns out her boarding house is a secondhand bookstore, and a girl who eats books lives there.”

One of my roommates and I have been watching an airing anime together for the past two seasons (Yuri on Ice and then Maid Dragon). While we were sad about Maid Dragon ending, we decided to pick out what we’d watch together next and decided on this one. I think it’ll be a cute slice of life show that will hopefully make us laugh and forget about the reality of our suffering as college students.

21563-yDcdKgOW9i4z.jpg2. Clockwork Planet: Drama, Fantasy, Romance, Sci-Fi

“Naoto’s a high school dropout and brilliant amateur tinkerer. He lives in a world that has been so over-exploited that the entire surface has become one vast machine. When a box crashes into his home containing a female automaton, it’s a harbinger of change that will rock the entire globe, and give Naoto his chance to be a hero.”

I’m not sure why I picked this one out, but I think it should be interesting if it’s done right.

3. Zero kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho: Fantasy97682-YRhTwV979zSr.jpg

“The “grimoire fantasy” series follows a witch named Zero who is ignorant of the world and a half-beast half-human mercenary who longs to be human. Witches who practice sorcery exist in the world, however, in this era no one knows how about the art and study of witchcraft. Zero is going on a journey to search for a magical tome called “The Book of Zero” that hides a power that can destroy the world. The mercenary travels with her as her guard.”

Again, not really sure why I picked this out other than it looks interesting.

21851-K0XbdjznpUf7.jpg4. Busou Shoujo Machiavellianism: Action, Comedy

“The “battle action” story follows Fudou Nomura, who transfers to a school where girls carry weapons to rule mercilessly over the boys. Shortly after transferring he becomes a target of Rin Onigawara, a member of the the Five Ruling Swords that commands the school. In order to break free he must defeat the Five Ruling Swords.”

Girls beating up guys? Count me in.

 

5. Shingeki no Bahamut: Virgin Soul: Action, Fantasy, Supernatural.21184-nQ58siemguIk.jpg

“The second season of Shingeki no Bahamut: Genesis. The story takes place 10 years after the world escaped destruction due to the revival of Bahamut. Humans at the royal capital gather wealth, the demons are enslaved to assist with the capital’s revival, and the gods lose their power due to a decrease in religious piety. The world is thrown off balance as humans, gods, and demons hold their own ideas of justice.”

I’m super interested to see how they’ll continue this anime. I wasn’t ever expecting a second season for this.

21662-ING7xrPtjWdc.jpg6. Gin no Guardian: Action, Comedy, Fantasy, Supernatural

“Based on the Chinese web comic Yín Zhī Shǒu Mù Rén. Sui Gin may be poor, but he is one of the best online video game players. This identity however, is unknown to all except for RikuLei, Sui Gin’s classmate. She delivers a mysterious mobile device to Sui Gin but before being able to explain herself, RikuLei is kidnapped and Sui Gin unwittingly finds himself wrapped up in series of problematic circumstances. Searching for a way to save her, he accidentally activates the device allowing him to dive into a new Virtual game-world.”

I’m not normally one for men saving women stories, but this world looks interesting so I’m going to give it a shot.

Others I’m considering: Alice to Zouroku, Eromanga Sensei, Kabukibi, Re: Creators, Rokudenashi Majutsu Koushi to Kinki Kyouten, Sagrada Reset, Sakura Quest

What are you watching this season? I’m so curious since I don’t know much about any of the series that are airing. Let me know what you think I should watch and I’ll try to give it a shot!

Leave a Reply

